# **SEPTEMBER 2021**

**BRYAN TEXAS UTILITIES NEWS** 



#### **HOLIDAY CLOSURES:**

**Labor Day** Monday, September 6, 2021

#### **BILL PAYMENT**

**Kiosk locations accepting** credit cards, cash and checks:

**HEB** 

1609 N. Texas Ave.

**HEB** 

725 E. Villa Maria

#### BTU Drive-Through

205 E. 28th St. Open 24 hours

Bring your BTU account number, BTU bill, keycard or reminder letter.

Payments can be made 24 hours a day via the "e-payment" option by calling 979.821.5700. Account number and credit card required.

#### www.btutilities.com

979.821.5700

### **Primary Address:**

205 E. 28th St., Bryan, TX 77803

#### **Mailing Address:**

PO Box 8000, Bryan, TX 77805



**BryanTexasUtilities** 



cityofbryan

cityofbryan



**JASON BIENSKI** 

Awarded

American Public Power Association (APPA) Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award

Bryan Texas Utilities (BTU) Board Member and former Bryan Mayor, Jason Bienski, was recently recognized with the American Public Power Association (APPA) Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award at the organization's annual meeting in June. This award distinguishes elected or appointed members of utility boards or commissions or public power community mayors who have made contributions to the APPA's goals and prestige.

Bienski has been involved in public power policy making for more than 15 years. He was first elected to the Bryan City Council in May 2005 and was appointed mayor pro tempore in 2007. He served in this position for three years prior to being elected as mayor in 2010. Bienski served two consecutive terms as mayor from May 2010 through November 2016. After term limiting off the Bryan City Council, Bienski was appointed as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Bryan Texas Utilities Board in 2017. In 2018, he was selected to serve on APPA's Policy Makers Council representing Region Four comprised of representatives from Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. In this position, he promotes public power's mission and goals by communicating with federal congressional representatives and staff regarding critical industry issues. He has been a champion for public power at all levels throughout his public service career.



ANDREW NELSON

Awarded Texas Public Power Association (TPPA) Public Service Leadership Award

City of Bryan Mayor Andrew Nelson was recently recognized for his commitment to the community's electricity needs.

Nelson was awarded the 2021 Public Service Leadership Award by the Texas Public Power Association (TPPA) at the organization's annual meeting on July 28. The award recognizes outstanding service to Texas and contributions to energy policy, benefiting the state's citizens, economy and environment.

"I am honored to be recognized by the Texas Public Power Association, especially this year when both City of Bryan and BTU employees and leadership provided exemplary service through a historic winter storm. They deserve all the credit and recognition for this award, not me." Nelson said. "Municipal-owned utilities play a vital role for cities like Bryan, assuring our residents have access to reliable, affordable and safe power."

TPPA's Public Service Leadership Award is presented annually to elected officials who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to their constituents and the State of Texas.





## **CONSERVATION TIPS**

## **Energy Conservation Tip:**

Caulk air leaks. Seal cracks and openings in your home with caulk to keep warm air out.





#### **Water Conservation Tip:**

Accidentally drop ice cubes on the floor? Don't just throw them in the sink. Place them in a house plant instead.